My Fitness Challenge: One-Legged Motivation

20140806_194832I am an avid fitness enthusiast and train the body for strength, endurance,  and flexibility in multiple ways.  A fitness challenge is never too big, so when a recent injury came up I was NOT ready to let that stop me!  I developed “Seismoiditis” pretty much overnight and woke up (after doing a half marathon 2 days prior) unable to step on my left foot.  Seismoiditis is an overusesamoidfinalillusse injury involving chronic inflammation of the seismoid bones and the tendons involved with those bones.

Don’t let an injury stop you from your daily routine!

Despite being unable to put pressure on my left foot, I went on to develop some pretty grueling 1-legged workouts that I wanted to share… If you have had, or currently have an injury, don’t give up! You can still get in an AWESOME workout – your injury is just a fun way to add spice and creativity to what you had planned! And hey, you might get stronger in ways you didn’t know you could… I got my 1st Kipping Pull-UP!


 If you have an injury like mine and are looking for ideas, or just want to get motivated here are the workouts I have done the past few days.

My One-Legged Workouts

Day 1 Workout

  • 10 sets. 6-8 reps. Tempo Push-Ups (slowly down count of 3, explode up  (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyAVWRBNqoM)
  • 5-10 Kipping Pull-ups EMOTM 12 Minutes (I got my 1st Kipping Pullup today!!)
  • 5 Handstand Wall Walks (Handstand against the wall, walking5-10 steps to the right and back)
  • 20 seconds Ring Rows, 10 min *EMOTM
  • Handstand Holds 5x, 1 min
  • Supported Ring Holds, 5 x 15-20 sec

Day 2 Workout

  • 5 sets x 5 reps Seated Strict Press (65#) followed by Max Push-Ups between each set
    • Max Push-Ups  (20,17,15,13,12)
  • 14 EMOTM: 20 sec alternating T2B (Toes to Bar) & Burpees

Day 3 Workout

  • Screen Shot 2014-08-08 at 9.25.14 AM100 situps
  • 50 1-legged Burpees
  • 40 Push-Ups
  • 30 Pistol Squats (1-legged squat)
  • 20 Hollow Rocks
  • 10 Tempo Push-Ups (slow 3 count down, explode back up)
  • 100 situps
  • 5×5, 1 min handstand with 1 min plank between

Day 4 Workout

(I was pretty mad because the other Crossfitters had an awesome workout with running and double unders, but I had to modify…)

For Time:

  • 25 1-legged Burpees (Rest 2 Min)
  • 100 1-Legged Jump Rope (I was really trying for 1-legged double unders but didn’t get it today)
  • 50 T2B (Toes to Bar)
  • 100 1-legged Jump Rope (Rest 2 Min)
  • 25 Burpees

Score/Time: 13:46 min

… Followed by working on my T2B and Supported Ring Holds (Ring Holds shown in picture on Day 1)


I got this message the next day… It made me smile, and this is why I love working hard for myself, but to also inspire others to do the same!=)
Hey Kristen! It has been a very long time. I think I still have your number but I figured I would message you. I just saw your Instagram post about you pushing through a tough workout with your hiccup of a foot injury. That’s really impressive!
 
I know you have always pushed yourself to the limit and worked extremely hard in the gym; as evident in McComas, everyday, back at Tech. I thought I would send you this note because it was very encouraging to see your video as I always have old, nagging injuries from various sports. I hope everything is going well in general! 

150205_10151236595788208_2001486484_n


….. Last year I had an injury on the same foot (small fracture in a bone on the top of my foot)… here is a picture of me still powering through with pistol squats none the less!

 


 If you have an injury don’t let it stop you from achieving your goals.  Exercise is an important component of a healthy lifestyle, so it doesn’t necessarily need to be pistol squats on one leg, but do what works for YOU!

Have ideas, suggestions, or feedback? I would love to hear from you! Contact me

.  =)

 

Leave a Reply

